How to Experience God’s Goodness

English: Scroll of the Psalms
English: Scroll of the Psalms (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You can’t experience God’s goodness living in doubt and unbelief. The scripture says in Psalm 34:8, “O taste and see that the Lord [our God] is good! Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) is the man who trusts and takes refuge in Him.” (AMP).  If you must taste anything, you must get a real contact with it and touch it with your tongue (a very vital part of your body). In this case, this scripture means we must believe and trust God to experience his goodness.

Psalm34:4-6 says “I went to the Lord for help. He answered me and rescued me from all my fears. All who look to him will be radiant.Their faces will never be covered with shame. Here is a poor man who called out. The Lord heard him and saved him from all his troubles. (NIV) Those who want to experience God’s goodness must learn to go to God for help. You do this by praying and telling God about what you need. You must look unto him with faith and trust, all the way. When you do, like this scripture says, you will never be put to shame. I have had many occasions where I had very serious issues to tackle and very serious decisions needed to be made; all I could really do was call on the Lord. One of such occasion was about a business issue; I prayed and trusted the Lord and he sent someone to me. The person did not know what I was going through and I never told him anything even till now but as we discussed he said things that helped me figure out what to do.

Matthew 11:28 says “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” (KJV).  You don’t need to suffer alone; let God help you. Take your trouble to him.  Psalm 37:4 says “Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust him, and he will help you.” (NLT)

Act in obedience. Naaman was in such a situation where he nearly missed God’s goodness but for his servant’s intervention.  Naaman’s servants went to him and said, “My father, if the prophet had told you to do some great thing, would you not have done it? How much more, then, when he tells you, ‘Wash and be cleansed’!” So he went down and dipped himself in the Jordan seven times, as the man of God had told him, and his flesh was restored and became clean like that of a young boy.” 2 Kings 5:13-14 (NIV)

Keep this in mind always; Those who trust in the Lord are as secure as Mount Zion; they will not be defeated but will endure forever. Just as the mountains surround Jerusalem, so the Lord surrounds his people, both now and forever. The wicked will not rule the land of the godly, for then the godly might be tempted to do wrong.” Psalm 125:1-3.

 

Ref:

Bible quotes: http://www.biblegateway.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.